How to Get Your HVAC Certification and HVAC Licensing

An HVAC technician can enjoy a variety of benefits including job stability and a hands-on career field. As you complete your HVAC training, make sure to get the right certification and licensing to start you out on a good path to success.

Just follow these 4 simple steps:

  1. Complete an HVAC training program.
  2. Take your HVAC certification or licensing or exams.
  3. Apply for an HVAC apprenticeship.
  4. Apply for entry level HVAC technician jobs.

1. Complete an HVAC training program.

Enroll in an HVAC training program at a local HVAC training school. You can usually complete these programs in less than 2 years. Some colleges may even award you with an associate degree in the process.

2. Take your HVAC certification or licensing exams.

Licensing in Colorado

Some states will require heating, air-conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers to be licensed, others will not. Colorado happens to be one of the states that allow licensing for HVAC technicians to be handled at the county level. Each county may or may not require licensing through their respective building departments. However, it is a good idea to look into it if it’s available, for the purpose of doing work that requires permits.

For details on how to get your Heating Mechanic IV license in El Paso County, for example, visit the Contractor Licensing & Registration page at the Pikes Peak Regional Building Department (Pikes Peak RBD) website.

HVAC Certification

If you choose to work in refrigeration you will need to be certified in EPA 608, as required by federal law. For this you must pass a written exam specific to the types of equipment and refrigerants you will be handling. Most quality HVAC training programs include federal EPA 608 training and certification preparation.

Being certified in the HVAC field can allow for higher paying jobs. In the HVAC Excellence program there are several certification exams to choose from for students just starting out. Professional level certifications are also available and require employment verifications and core testing to advance your career. Check them out!

15 Employment Ready HVAC Certifications

  1. Electrical – Suggested prerequisite for all other certifications in the HVAC Excellence program
  2. Light Commercial Air Conditioning
  3. Air Conditioning
  4. Basic Refrigeration and Charging Procedures
  5. Electric Heat
  6. Gas Heat Certification
  7. Oil Heat
  8. Residential and Light Commercial Hydronic Heat
  9. Heat Pump
  10. Carbon Monoxide
  11. System Diagnostics and Troubleshooting Procedures
  12. Fuel Oil Combustion
  13. Natural Gas Combustion Analysis
  14. Carbon Monoxide and Combustion Analysis
  15. Light Commercial Refrigeration

Take advantage of what’s out there, like specialized HVAC training schools, hands-on training, and a multitude of certifications. Now that you know what you have to do and where to get it done, you can be on your way to a new career as an HVAC Technician.

3. Apply for an HVAC apprenticeship.

After completing your HVAC training, you may choose an apprenticeship as your next step. Simply apply to or enroll in an apprenticeship program with an experienced HVAC organization in your area. Learn everything they have to offer and put it to practice. Your apprenticeship may last anywhere from 6 to 36 months.

4. Apply for entry level HVAC Technician jobs.

You can also enter the HVAC field directly after completing a training program and receiving your degree and/or certifications. Many HVAC contractors and employers often hire entry level HVAC technicians to “train in” to their organizations.

Many HVAC programs offer career placement assistance for graduates. Contact your local HVAC training school today and you can be on your way to a rewarding career in HVAC with a good transcript and a healthy resume.

Sources

  • Pikes Peak Regional Building Department, Contractors Licensing and Registration, pprbd.org/contfiles/ContLicensing.aspx
  • HVAC Excellence, Technician Certification, hvacexcellence.org/EmploymentReady.aspx
  • United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook 2010-11 Edition, bls.gov/oco/ocos192.htm

How to Get Your Cosmetology Licensing in Colorado

Congratulations! You've chosen to pursue a career as a cosmetologist in Colorado – which means you need to get your cosmetology licensing. This article outlines the steps you need to take to legally practice cosmetology in the state of Colorado by getting your license for cosmetology.

3 Steps to Getting Your Cosmetology Licensing

  1. Get an education from a state licensed school of cosmetology.
  2. Earn your cosmetology certification.
  3. Take and pass the state board of cosmetology exams.

Step 1: Get an education from a state licensed school of cosmetology.

Finding a school of cosmetology in or close to your area of ​​Colorado should be no problem. Start with an internet search including the name of the closest city near you. Find everything from specialized cosmetology schools to career colleges, which feature professional in-school cosmetology salons for hands-on training and experience that employers look for.

Step 2: Earn your cosmetology certification.

Once you have found your cosmetology school of choice, get to work! Certification may be less than 15 months away. The following is a list of cosmetology certification and licensing requirements for Colorado.

Colorado State Board of Cosmetology Licensing Requirements

  • Cosmetologist: 1800 (60 credits)
  • Barber: 1500 (50 credits)
  • Cosmetician: 600 (20 credits)
  • Manicurist: 600 (20 credits)
  • Hairstylist: 1200 (40 credits)

Step 3: Take and pass the state board of cosmetology exams for Colorado.

Now that you've checked off the first 2 steps, it's time to get in touch with the Colorado State Board of Cosmetology and get your cosmetology license.

Applying online for a Colorado license in cosmetology if you've never had a license from any other state:

  1. Go to the Colorado State Board of Cosmetology for information and you will be rerouted to the Pearson Vue website.
  2. At the Pearson Vue Website, download the application to apply for Colorado Licensure.
  3. Choose the practical skills examination you are applying for, such as Cosmetology, fill in your licensure history and pay the required exam fee of $ 75 and application fee of $ 30.
  4. Take and pass the practical skills examination
  5. Apply and pay a $ 30 fee for the written examination.
  6. Take the written examination.
  7. Receive your Colorado Cosmetology License and be qualified to work as a cosmetologist in the state of Colorado.

Applying for a cosmetology license in Colorado if you already have a license from another state:

Colorado uses licensure by endorsement for anyone holding an active cosmetology license issued by another state.

  1. Apply for licensure by endorsement.
  2. Pay the required fee.
  3. Provide proper documentation.
  4. Fill out all the appropriate eligibility forms.

Summary

Start on the right path to success with professional career in Cosmetology. Follow these 3 simple steps to become a practicing Colorado State Licensed Cosmetologist. Start your career training today at a Cosmetology school near you.

Where do I go?

Colorado Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetologist Licensing

1560 Broadway, # 1350, Denver, CO 80202

(phone) 303-894-7772 www.dora.state.co.us/Barbers_Cosmetologists/licensing.htm

Pearson Vue Contact Info: www.asisvcs.com/indhome.asp?CPCAT=2006STATEREG